The Mother of Stonewall?

Stonewall Catalyst Storme DeLarverieMeet K. Stormé DeLarverie, popular drag king and a veteran of the Battle of Stonewall, and according to some, the catalyst:

a cop said to me:  ‘Move faggot’, thinking that I was a Gay guy.  I said, ‘I will not!  And, don’t you dare touch me.”  With that, the cop shoved me and I instinctively punched him right in his face.  He bled! He was then dropping to the ground — not me!

According to some witnesses, this was the punch that started the rebellion against the police raid that made history almost 35 years ago.

Leave a Reply

